Thaumcraft Guide to All Aspects

Posted on

Thaumcraft aspects refer to the basis for all of the resources, structures, and research of Thaumcraft. All of them represent the flavors of magical energy (vis and essential), and the knowledge used for research. Almost each item, construct, block, and entity (including mobs) in Thaumcraft is represented by a characteristic combination of aspects.

There is a possibility that both mobs and objects mods also have aspects. They are able to be specified by the mod, or supplied by a bridge mod connecting it to Thaumcraft. For a lot of crafted items, Thaumcraft itself is able to calculate the aspects from their recipe, even if the mod itself has not specified them.

Every aspect is identified by a Latin name, a characteristic color, and an icon. The six Primal Aspects include Aer (air), Aqua (water), Ignis (fire), Terra (earth), Ordo (order), and Perditio (entropy), which are combined pairwise to make successfully more complex Compound Aspects. The instance from the Thaumonomicon is combining Terra and Aqua to produce Victus. There are 48 aspects in Thaumcraft itself, but a few add-ons add additional compounds.

Primal Aspects:

  1. Aer (Air)
  2. Aqua (Water)
  3. Ignis (Fire)
  4. Ordo (Order, Purity, Regularity)
  5. Perdition (Entropy, Destruction, Chaos)
  6. Terra (Earth)

Compound Aspects:

Tier 1:

  1. Gelum: Ignis and Perditio
  2. Lux: Aer and Ignis
  3. Motus: Aer and Ordo
  4. Permutation: Ordo and Perditio
  5. Potential: Ignis and Ordo
  6. Tempestas: Aer and Aqua
  7. Vacuos: Aer and Perditio
  8. Venenum: Aqua and Perditio
  9. Victus: Aqua and Terra
  10. Vitreus: Ordo and Terra

Tier 2:

  1. Bestia: Motus and Victus
  2. Fames: Vacous and Victus
  3. Herba: Terra and Victus
  4. Iter: Terra and Motus
  5. Limus: Aqu and Victus
  6. Metallum: Terra and Vitreus
  7. Mortuus: Perditio and Virtus
  8. Praecantatio: Potentia and Vacous
  9. Sano: Ordo and Virtus
  10. Tenebrae: Light and Vacous
  11. Vinculum: Perditio and Motus
  12. Volatus: Aer and Motus

Tier 3:

  1. Alienis: Vacous and Tenebrae
  2. Arbor: Aer and Herba
  3. Auram: Aer and Praecantatio
  4. Corpus: Bestia and Mortuus
  5. Exanimis: Mortus and Mortuus
  6. Spiritus: Virtus and Mortuus
  7. Vitium: Perditio and Praecantatio

Tier 4:

  1. Cognition: Ignis and Spiritus
  2. Sensus: Aer and Spiritus

Tier 5:

  1. Humanus: Bestia and Cognitio

Tier 6:

  1. Instrumentum: Ordo and Humanus
  2. Lucrum: Fames and Humanus
  3. Messis: Herba and Humanus
  4. Perfodio: Terra and Humanus

Tier 7:

  1. Fabrico: Humanus and Instrumentum
  2. Machina: Motus and Instrumentum
  3. Meto: Instrumentum and Messis
  4. Pannus: Bestia and Instrumentum
  5. Telum: Ignis and Instrumentum
  6. Tutamen: Terra and Instrumentum

Primal Aspects are known as the most basic kinds of aspects. Compound Aspects are made from two other aspects. The simplest ones are made from two Primal Aspects, but it is possible to have incredibly complex Compound Aspects made from successive layers of simpler aspects. The simplest instance of such a Compound Aspect is the aspect of Victus that is the mix of Terra and Aqua.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *